Adding Row to Google Sheet When Tag Added

Hi there,

I’m new to using Google Sheets with Asana, and would like to set up a system whereby whenever a tag e.g. “designers” is added to a task, that populates a row in my Designers table in my Google Sheet with: assignee, project name, task start date, task finish date?

Is this possible or am I being too optimistic?

Thanks for your help :slight_smile:

Marie,

I tried to find information on what you proposed. I’m not seeing it, or I’m misunderstanding your solution.

Is there a way to tie google sheets to a project, so each new task gets a row in google sheets? I only seem to be able to find using the dashboard and seeing things on the project basis.

Thanks @Marie,

Sadly I don’t have that kind of technical knowledge (as you can probably tell). When you say multihome a task - you mean it would be in its normal project but also replicated in a fresh project called “Designers”? How do you do that?

Also the google sheet I’d want would have only those fields in assignee, project name, task start date, task finish date - not the extra stuff that seems to come in as standard.

I’m sure we’re close to a solution, so appreciate your help.

Thanks,

Leila,

Hi @Marie,

I’d be grateful for your help. I have done as you said and created a “designers” project populated with tasks that have the tags “desginer”, and exported that to a Googlesheet. I can see in the “Task Count” section the number of tasks and the number of incomplete. In the last section “incomplete tasks by assignee” I just see the number, what commands/formulas do I need to run to see:

assignee, project name, task start date, task finish date?

Hopefully I’m half way there?

Leila,

Hi @leila, I think you can set up a Zapier connection for this.

Just set up the columns in google sheets of the things you want to see there and map them accordingly.