Consulting with External Clients in Asana

Hi - I’m a web consultant. I work with my clients on projects where they’re active participants in the process, from discovery and strategy, content creation and marketing tasks.

I’m setting up Asana for the first time and I’m wondering what the best strategy is to handle this. Questions:

1. I set up my account as an Organization. So my external clients will be guests. I create a Team, add my clients to it, then create a Project for their project and assign it to the Team. Will I run into any limitation with this setup?

2. When a project is completed and a particular client does not sign an ongoing retainer agreement, they will need to take ownership of the project management, so they will have the history of the project and be able to continue using Asana after we part ways. That means I need to transfer the entire Project over to another account. Is Asana going to allow this?

If not - is it a better strategy to have them open the account in their name, then add me into their Organization? However - in that case, from what I’ve learned so far I’ll be a Guest. Will I have enough access rights to be able to manage the application and do what I need to do?

Thanks for any pointers or advice!

Oh boy do we have some great people for you to talk to! Some of our Community Champions are using Asana to manage their consulting work, as well. Looking for your thoughts, @Todd_Cavanaugh, @paulminors, @Sebastian_Paasch

1 Like

Hi @Josh_Vaughn.

I set up my account as an Organization. So my external clients will be guests. I create a Team, add my clients to it, then create a Project for their project and assign it to the Team. Will I run into any limitation with this setup?