Converting workspace into organization - worth it?

Hi guys. I’ve been using Asana to run my small company for a couple years as a “workspace”. We’ve reached a point where we’re thinking of converting into a “organization” primarily due to the team tabs feature. I have 3 questions:

• is there any pro/cons to converting into an organization? All I can see about an organization is what I’ve read or the same screen-shots which don’t indicate much aside from splitting members into teams and projects.

• when searching for this topic in the community, I’ve noticed a few people who converted into an organization and freaked out, asking for help to turn it back into a workspace. What really changes? Why do people want to go back? Again, from what I’ve seen there doesn’t appear to be much differences between the two - can someone please fill me in?

• Once you’re in an organization, it appears that anyone can remove anyone from the organization and projects. Does this mean there are no admins? And anyone can remove their superiors?

Thanks in advance!

3 Likes

Hi Sean,

In my company we very quickly converted our workspace to an organization because we needed to have the team feature.

From my experience I see more positive points having an organization because:

• With teams, you can split for instance R&D, Marketing, Finance,… each team having its own projects. Nevertheless, someone from team A can be a member of a project owned by team B. In that case, you see only the project you have been given access to.
    With workspace you could also split teams by using different workspace, but if I remember well you can’t manage transverse project as within an organization.

• With an organization, all the tasks assigned to you in every project from your team or owned by another team, fall into the same MyTasks.