Custom Fields in Sections

Hi there, my name is Caroline, I haven’t been Asana for long, and I’m still learning how to use it.

I had a question regarding custom fields : Is it possible to change the viewing options of Custom Fields in order to only display them for some Sections and not all of them ?

Here’s my example : I am working on a film festival and we have different sections for each department such as : Merchandising, Sponsors & Funding, Film Program…ect. One of our sections concerns some short films submitted for a competition we’re organizing. I created a dropdown Custom Field for this section with 4 different options : Received, Reviewed, Selected and Denied. I would want to know if I can apply this custom field only for the Competition section, because it’s irrelevant for other sections like Merchandising and Sponsoring.
Sorry if this is a bit far-fetched ! Thank you !
Caroline

2 Likes

Hi @Caroline_Audi. Welcome to the Community!

I’m afraid it’s not possible to have different views for different sections, since sections themselves are actually just bold and underlined tasks, rather than distinct areas.

We have a project that contains 9 custom fields, most of which will only be relevant for certain sections, with 2 fields that do apply to all. We’ve made the latter 2 visible and left the others as only visible within individual tasks. We can then use advanced searches to sort them into specific groups by field.

I can certainly see the advantage in being able to make proper standalone sections with different fields. It might be worth suggesting that as Product Feedback

4 Likes

That is a very valid point, Caroline! There are suggestions - depending on how more in depth you want to take this.
First Option would be to just add a N/A option for the custom fields that do not apply and as @Mark_Hudson suggested, make those custom fields not visible in the task panel.