Ideas/Feedback to display subtasks

Please please please make subtasks visible in task lists!!

57 Likes

We’ve noted your feedback, thank you! In the meantime I suggest that you add subtasks to a project if you’d like to view them in the main project list. Just use shortcut Tab+P to add a subtask to a project. :slight_smile:

12 Likes

Hi @mary-lou,

I am a Success Manager here at Asana. Thank you for your feedback!

While it is true that subtasks are not currently visible in the the default task list (and you can definitely use the above Tab+P to add the subtask to the main task list as a workaround!), it is technically possible to use an Advanced Search to display subtasks and well as tasks in a List View.

To do this:

• Navigate to Advanced Search
  • Type in the Project you’d like to view in “in Projects”
  • Under "Add Filter > “More” click “Subtasks” to make sure that Subtasks are included in your search
  • You can set other filters in the Advanced Search and star, save and rename it so you can come back to it in the future or share the URL with others

All subtasks will now show up in a list view with the name of the parent task appended at the end (in a light font).

I hope this helps keep track of your team’s subtasks so that they don’t get forgotten! :slight_smile:

16 Likes

How do we most effectively +1 things like this? A simple heart/like?

7 Likes

Thank you for asking, @lee! Yes, I suggestion you heart/like. Now that we’re seeing so much product feedback in the Community (which is great!) we’re working on formalizing a system like this. More info on that front soon.

2 Likes

Hi!

I’ve tried the Advanced Search and it’s nice, but I believe it’s still not visual friendly…
It would be great if we can see Subtasks below the main task in the project’s task list not as a list inside the main task.