How can you rename users?

A lot of my users are signing up without filling out their names. This is causing issues while peopel are trying to tag other users and aren’t sure how to do so since people aren’t filling out their profiles.

How can as an admin I enforce this / rename this for others?

6 Likes

Hello @Han_Su_Kim! I recommend that you refer your team to the profile settings Guide article here. All people need to do is visit my profile settings and update their profile name. This is a good tip for out of office messages in Asana, as well.

Perhaps you invite your team to an “update Asana profile” meeting next week. :slight_smile:

I also recommend that you bookmark this Admin Guide article, which will likely be helpful in the future. Please let us know if you have other questions.

2 Likes

At 100+ people self service just isn’t reasonable to ask. Why can’t an admin for the team take care of this and edit other profiles?

5 Likes

I completely understand where you’re coming from with this question. The reason admins can’t edit user profiles is because often one user will belong to multiple instances of Asana. One user could belong to Asana instances for john@company1.com, john@company2.com, and john@company3.com. The individual user has control over their own profile so they can accommodate the needs of multiple instances of Asana that they belong to. This happens frequently with freelancers, for example.

2 Likes

I don’t mean to be rude but if 100+ users can’t do a simple task like adjusting their profile name. How do you expect them to use a Task management system with any actionable results?

I’m guessing you are using Asana in an unusual way, an edge case. Perhaps inviting people you don’t have direct or functional control of like a manager would over their team.

If you could provide more context maybe someone could help or Asana dev team could consider the feature you need.