How delete "No Project" section

I’m new to Asana. A “No Project” section header suddenly appeared and all my tasks for the “Laree” section are showing up here. I’Ve tried moving them, but to no avail. how do I remove the “No Project” section entirely? Also, a related question: How do I delete the empty task spaces that, unbeknownst to me, were createed under “No Project” when I was trying to create tasks under “Later?” Please help!

Sorry for the typo. I meant the “Later” section.

Hi @Suzanne_McAuliffe welcome to Asana and the community…

It sounds like you are in the My Task View. If that is correct then what you are seeing is correct. The reason the “No Project” section is visible is that is a normal sorry criteria in the Later section which shows all tasks not associated with a project.
Have a look at this help page

I would also suggest you have a look at some of the Asana Trainings which will give you a good starting point for using Asana.

Hope this helps…

Jason.

1 Like

Hey @Suzanne_McAuliffe

@Jason_Woods is right on the money here. Chances are you have your sort filter adjusted to sort your Tasks according to Project. Additionally, what can also be the case is that those “Tasks”, which appear in the “No Project” section, are actually Subtasks.

Subtasks don’t automatically inherit the Project that they appear in; you need to add them manually by clicking into the Task and adding them to the Project (Tab+P). Additional info is available here.

Hope this helps!
:slight_smile:

1 Like

Have to say Michael, this is one of our biggest problems with subtasks. Subtasks should automatically inherit the project they are subtasks of!

1 Like

I am actually in the process of
Going through all the training and associated exercises now, which led to this issue showing up. I’ll check out the link you provided for additional guidance. Thx!

2 Likes

Thanks everyone! Appreciate the help and info!

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback @Laura_Johnson.