How do I completely remove a team member?


#22

Hello Kevin, this is very good tutortial. Unfortunatelly I already deleted several users which left the organization, but they still have assigned some tasks and cann still read it. Is there any way how to deprovision already deleted users? thank you


#23

Hi @Jirik_Asana - we’d be happy to help! However, to answer this we’d need more information about your account that we don’t want exposed here in the public Community. I encourage you to reach out to asana.com/support with this question and they’ll be happy to help!


#24

I am having the same issue. I added 10 people to a project who do not not have an associated domain email address, but instead I added them to the project using a gmail.com address. That project is over and all of the people have been removed but I continue to see them in the dropdown list when I go to assign a task. The dropdown list is pretty unmanageable this way and slows me down significantly. Can someone help me delete these entries from the dropdown list? Thank you!


#25

Hi @Susanne_Goldstein! Sounds like you have removed these members from your Team but not from the Organization itself. Try following these steps to remove them completely from the Organization.

  1. Create a new Team in your Organization (https://asana.com/guide/help/organizations/team-basics#gl-create) and add all the members you’re looking to remove
  2. Access the Team you just created and navigate to the Members tab
  3. Invite the people you want to remove from the Org: https://asana.com/guide/help/organizations/members#gl-invite

Once you’re sure the members you’re looking to remove have been added to your team, simply follow the 4 steps below to fully remove them from your Organization:

  1. Head over to your Team Member’s list and use your mouse to hover over their name
  2. Click Remove
  3. Then, click Remove Access
  4. Finally, click Deprovision

Note that it is 3 clicks: Remove > Remove Access > Deprovision

The second click removes the person from the team, and the third click fully removes them from your Organization. If you need to, you can also refer to the GIF in this article: https://asana.com/guide/help/organizations/basics#gl-free-depro
Hope this helps!


#26

Hi Marie -
Thanks for this. I followed it to the letter. Did everything you suggested and deprovisioned everyone. Then I cleared my browser history. No luck. All of the names that I just removed still show up in the Assignment dropdown list.

I thought maybe it was a browser thing, so I opened a fresh instance of Asana in another web browser and still had the same issue – all of the names still in the dropdown.

Other thoughts?

Thanks!
Susanne


#27

Marie- One other thing: When I added all of those people to my new “test team” they all got an email notification and were wondering why I added them to a new team. Argh!!


#28

So sorry for the trouble @Suzanne_Nelson! Just dropped you a DM to follow-up on this, have a look at your Inbox!


#29

Hi Marie. Same exact problem as Susanne_Goldstein here.

Background: I had a few outside-org email addresses invited into my projects whom are all now removed. Unfortunately I did not “deprovison” them initially, hence not able to pull them back up in my team members screen.

Tested: I followed your above instructions by creating a new “test team” and invited back my personal Gmail address as a team member, which at one point was a team member. Once the team was created, I was able to Remove, Remove Access, then Deprovision this account, successfully removing it from the auto-drop-down list. However, as Susanne_Goldstein confirmed, an invitation email went out to my personal email during the process.

Question: What should I do if I don’t want invitations to go out to everyone who has at one point belonged in my projects, but now I’m having to invite them back only to revoke their access again? Any other way to accomplish “deprovisioning” without inviting people back?


#30

Originally replied to an existing thread, but wanted to expose it as a new post, in case someone else might be able to shed light on the subject:

Hi Marie. Same exact problem as Susanne_Goldstein here.

Background: I had a few outside-org email addresses invited into my projects whom are all now removed. Unfortunately I did not “deprovison” them initially, hence not able to pull them back up in my team members screen.

Tested: I followed your above instructions by creating a new “test team” and invited back my personal Gmail address as a team member, which at one point was a team member. Once the team was created, I was able to Remove, Remove Access, then Deprovision this account, successfully removing it from the auto-drop-down list. However, as Susanne_Goldstein confirmed, an invitation email went out to my personal email during the process.

Question: What should I do if I don’t want invitations to go out to everyone who has at one point belonged in my projects, but now I’m having to invite them back only to revoke their access again? Any other way to accomplish “deprovisioning” without inviting people back?


#31

Hi @Phil_Sung. Can you please write in to http://asana.com/support ? We can better assist you there! :slight_smile:


#32

Of course. Thanks.


#33

Hi Michelle, I had the same problem. Reinviting the person and a second round of ‘Remove > Remove Access > Deprovision’ solved it for me. The person no longer appears in the dropdown.


Old employee removing organization, free account
#34

Thanks for sharing @Florian_Buerki!


#36

My colleague who has created asana for our company is no longer active. I want to delete this account from asana now. How can I do this?


#37

If I remember well with the free version, the member you want to remove has to be in a team you have access to.

Then 2 cases:

  • you are already both members of a common team, then ok
  • or you need to invite that member “temporarily” to a team you’re member of

Once you are in a same team, you can access to the team’s member list, you select “remove” next to the member’s name you want to remove access, then “remove access”. If you stop now you just remove the member from the team, but at this moment you can select “deprovision” and the member will be removed from the whole organisation.


#38

Hi Julien,

It works exactly as you explained it. I have added the user to a team for a while and after that the access has been withdrawn and removed.

Thank you for the assistance!


#39

Hi guys! Just merging this thread with How do I completely remove a team member? :slight_smile: