Prevent Users from Deleting Tasks


#1

Is it possible to prevent users from deleting tasks other than perhaps those that they create on their own?

We have concerns that this could occur (whether maliciously or not) - so trying to find a way to limit a user’s ability to delete data in the system, especially as I work to move more of the management and executive team into Asana.


#2

Hi @Ben_Brenner! If you’re using the the Premium version of Asana, I would recommend looking into users permissions:

Hope this helps! :slight_smile:


#3

It seems like my only option, even with our Premium account, is for a full user or a comment-only user which it seems like can be company-wide or adjusted at the individual project level.

I want my users to have full access when it comes to creating, editing, assigning tasks - I just don’t want them to delete (accidentally or maliciously) any tasks that they didn’t create themselves.

Is something like this possible?


#4

I completely understand your point @Ben_Brenner; but remember that all deleted tasks are available from the Deleted Items section within your left sidebar; from there you can undelete any task that was deleted by mistake: https://asana.com/guide/help/tasks/actions#gl-undelete-task

Let me know if there is anything else I can help with; have a great Friday!


#5

So can a user only permanently delete tasks that they created?


#6

Hi @Ben_Brenner If you’d like to learn more about users permissions and what “comment only” members can do, I would advise you to have a look at this post I wrote a while ago: Files deleted by a limited access member


#7

Marie, I share @Ben_Brenner’s concern. The option you are suggesting only allows us to view the tasks that we have deleted. The point is that even amongst a community of full access user’s one [admin?] would like to have access to any deleted task from anyone in the organization.