It would appear that once projects are archived a search for the project title will not fin the project. Is it really the case that the search only looks through tasks and conversations of projects once archived? We have over 700 archived projects and I really don’t want to go back in and add the project title as a note.
Technically speaking, archived projects are not searchable via the Advanced Search as we explain in our Guide article: https://asana.com/guide/help/projects/actions#gl-archive (“Once archived, the project will disappear from everyone’s sidebar and from search results. Though an archived project will not show in search by name, its individual tasks will still appear in search results.”)
That said, this wasn’t always the case; for a while archived projects did appear into Search results, but this was unfortunately because of a Bug, not because of an expected behavior. The bug (which had to do with how we were indexing the search) has since been fixed, which explains why you’re not able to search your archived projects anymore. I completely understand that this change is painful; for the time being, the best advice I can give you is to search through the “Archived projects” option, although I can appreciate that with hundreds or thousands of projects this is not the most convenient. Also, bear in mind that a task doesn’t inherit the “archivedness” of its project, so technically you can search archived tasks via the Advanced Search, it might be a quicker way to get your hands on an archived project. Again I’m conscious this is not ideal, but it might be a good workaround for the time being.
Thanks for the swift response. Are there any plans to add this functionality to the search? Surely the reason most people archive project’s is so they can refer back to them at a later date, and what better way to find an archived project than searching for it by name?
I totally agree with Geroge_Burningham.
My whole team complains about this issue. I don’t understand why your devs considered this is a bug. Please bring back the bug! It was a feature!