T+/T- dates for recurring processes

I’m very new to Asana (just started using this morning) and am attempting to use it to make sure everything is in place/allocated to the correct team members for recurring processes, such as onboarding new employees. Is it possible to set up a project such that you set a T date (e.g. new employee starts) and then the due dates for other tasks fall around this? e.g. on T-5 to check that the contract is signed.

Thanks in advance for your wisdom :slight_smile:

@Louisa_Troitzsch Unfortunately that’s not available for now. I’d also love to see those kind of customization and advanced configuration option though.

1 Like

Thanks for the speedy reply :slight_smile: I noticed that with the premium subscription you can save a project as a template which might partly help. I’ll trial it for now and see how we get on!

Yes, templates are great way to standardize some processes. However, due dates cannot be flexible in templates. How to Use Asana Project Templates | Product Guide • Asana Product Guide

Hello Lousia,

First of all a warm welcome to Asana and the Asana Community! :unicorn:

Despite the fact, that there is no perfect built-in solution for your question you might be able to do it via Templates, which you know are available in Premium and Zapier.

You can connect your HR software to Zapier and create the following workflow:
If team member has first day → copy Asana template for new employees
Set due dates in Asana according to first day of employee

You have to do this only once in Zapier and then you are good to go.

There are also many built-in Zapier connections I recommend you to check:

And again welcome to the Community?

3 Likes