Tasks without Assignee or Project fall into the abyss

Hello Community,

I’m finding an issue with Tasks that are created without an Assignee, or a Project, basically fall into the abyss. They don’t show up for me (even though I’m an admin to manage our projects), and I can’t find them unless I search for them but I need to know the name or keyword to find them.

This happens for me often when I create a Task from the share flow of the iOS app (it doesn’t associate the task to a project), or when I’m trying to re-assign the task and navigate away from the tasks then it just magically falls into the abyss.

Support told me to set up a private project to associate tasks to, but this doesn’t seem like a good workaround for losing data with tasks disappearing.

How have you worked around this? I’m hoping something is fixed with this soon.

Thanks!

Hi,

If you’re using the free version of Asana, I advice you:

• if you assign a task to a colleague, then to always associate a task to a existing project. If the task is not attached to a project, you can create a private project called for instance “Tasks I assigned to others” and thus you’ll never lose the task.
  • if the task is assigned to you, then no problem because you will have it in your “MyTasks”

If you’re Premium, then you can avoid creating the project “Tasks I assigned to others”, because you can use Advanced Search and define a report of the tasks you assigned to colleagues.

1 Like

I’d like to support @Julien_RENAUD’s idea and suggest that if you’re on premium, create a search report to find all these tasks and save it so you can always quickly access these tasks in the “abyss”.

3 Likes

Maybe I’m not understanding a subtlety. But have you tried this in an Advanced Search?

3 Likes