User Work in Progress - Tasks

My organization uses the following structure for project management.
Project - Sections - Tasks (We do not use subtasks). For each stage in the task lifespan, we use a custom field for “Status”. (copy, design, review…)

One of the issues we experience is tracking “work in progress” for users (copywriters, designers, etc.).

For example, we have a task for “Copy” and it goes from “User A” to a PM, to a reviewer, and possibly back to “User A”.

While this “Task” is away from “User A”, how do you track this work as “in progress” for the copywriter.

As a project manager, I will look at “User A’s” Task List and it’s empty. However, at any given time multiple tasks could come out of “Review” and back into their Task List.

Our goal is to have an eye on “upcoming” or “in progress” work for each user, while it may not be “Assigned to” that user.

Any suggestions?

1 Like

Hi @Kyle_Rassel to start off the conversation here, have you considered Task Dependencies or Assigning Copies of Task for the PM and Reviewer etc. and keeping the main task with User A?Creating task dependencies | Product guide • Asana Product Guide
Asana tasks - understanding the basics | Product guide • Asana Product Guide

3 Likes

We have tested dependencies and setting stages using that approach. We have not tried Task Copies.

Here’s what we tried…(All are individual tasks)

Copy I - Assigned to “User A”
Review I - Assigned to “User B” (dependent on Copy I)
Copy II - Assigned to “User A” (dep. on Review I)
Review II - Assigned to User B (dep. on Copy II

In theory it seemed like the correct way to solve this problem. In practice, it seemed tedious to track/move task descriptions, conversation, and the latest files from Task to Task so often.

Have you experienced similar pain points in using this method?

1 Like

Hi Kyle,