Using Asana API without client library?

I am a beginner trying to figure out how this API and oAuth works, and it seems like every tutorial / reference I find whether on this API or ANY API assumes a level of knowledge that I can’t fathom because I can’t find information/reference to get me started. I thought I would try to use the Asana API to pull a list of my projects on a page on my wordpress website. Is there a way to do it without the client library? Just a simple php/curl based request?

I tried to use the library first, but don’t know how to install/implement because they mention something about composer, and environment variables that I don’t know how to set, etc… see what I mean by there being no beginner info that I can find?

Here’s what I’ve done:

1. Create a Wordpress page called Asana Auth on the website, url: MYDOMAIN/asana-auth/
  2. Create an app in Asana with a client ID, secret, redirect url (MYDOMAIN/asana-projects/
  3. On the Asana Auth page, I created a button that when clicked will send the auth information to the Asana authentication uri. My button code:

<a class="custom-button" href="https://app.asana.com/-/oauth_authorize?response_type=code&client_id=MY_ID&redirect_uri=https%3A%2F%2FMY_DOMAIN.com%2Fasana-projects%2F&state=drickstate" title="Auth">Authenticate</a>

I click that button, and I can see a successful response in the url with my code included as a parameter. I grab the code using $_GET, and try to exchange it for a token using the following:

<?php 
            $client_id = 'MY_ID';
            $client_secret = 'MY_SECRET';
            $redirect_uri = 'https%3A%2F%2FMY_DOMAIN%2Fasana-projects%2F&drickstate';
            $access_code = $_GET['code'];
            $token_uri = 'https://app.asana.com/-/oauth_token';

$post_fields = array(
                'grant_type' => 'authorization_code',
                'client_id' => $client_id,
                'client_secret' => $client_secret,