Using one Project for Multiple Customers

Hey all,

I’m just getting started with Asana here. I’m a wedding photographer. All of my wedding photography clients go through the same pipeline.

I have a list of tasks and sub-tasks for every single wedding that we shoot. Every client goes through this same exact process.

Is there a way to have multiple customers go through this list of tasks?

2 Likes

Hi @Andy_Lydick that’s a great use case. :slight_smile:
Have you explored potentially creating a template? How to create and use Asana templates | Product guide • Asana Product Guide

3 Likes

Yes, as Cosmina suggested, if you’re on the premium plan, you can create templates. You can also do this pretty easily on the free plan as well. All you’ll need to do is create a master project that contains your client workflow, tasks and subtasks, and label it something like “[template] - Client Workflow” or something similar. Then every time you onboard a new client, just copy the master project template and rename it with the client’s info. (Be sure to click the check boxes to copy over the subtasks as well).

1 Like

@ClientCentric working on a similar situation. Home Builder with set workflow so the use of templates is an option. Where I’m struggling conceptually is the task owners. Say I have 10 tasks the role ‘Team Leader’ is responsible for. For project A Team Leader=John, for project B Team Leader=Tom.

Is there a way to allocate roles to tasks and then map the actual names to roles as in above example? Or do I have to go in and at the time of creating the new project (via the template) assign actual user names to individual tasks? Or could there be an option via teams e.g. ‘Team Leaders’?

@Thomas_F_Meier you’ll indeed need to assign the individual assignees to tasks. Or, of course, you could ask the individuals to assign the tasks to themselves (assuming they know their general responsibilities relative to the other team members).

1 Like